Skip to main content

RUAG Innovation Award

We would like to honor the excellent final papers written by young and motivated talents who explore practice-relevant issues from a scientific standpoint. The spotlight is on papers about security and sovereignty in Switzerland.

We have awarded five RUAG Innovation Awards since the fall of 2022. In addition to academic excellence, the jury will focus on the degree of innovationsocietal relevance and practical feasibility of the final papers. These evaluation criteria form the basis for evaluating the final papers across all the universities. Our previous winners are:

  1. Landry Reynard, HES-SO Valais-Wallis: «Object Recognition and Segmentation via an Embedded AI platform»
  2. Jasmin Wyss, Université de Lausanne: «Identifying the phone user – a proof of concept based on data stored by applications»
  3. Martin Pichonnat und Wiktor Palgan, Berner Fachhochschule: «Entwicklung eines verwandelbaren Anhängers auf Basis eines ISO-Containers»
  4. Luca Davide Meyer, Haute Ecole Arc Neuchâtel Berne Jura: «Acoustic Analysis of Industrial Data»
  5. Marco De Piaz, Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera italiana: «Completamento e validazione di un codice ai volumi finiti per il calcolo della distribuzione di temperatura all’interno di batterie»

So far, most of our partners have been universities from Western Switzerland and Ticino. We will roll out the RUAG Innovation Award throughout Switzerland starting in 2023. Pascal Gaggero, Head of the Venture Unit, would be happy to provide information about how interested universities can become partners.

All the information about the purpose, the procedure, and the universities participating in the award is available on our website.

Pascal Gaggero


Pascal Gaggero
Head Venture Unit
Switzerland Innovation Park Biel/Bienne
Aarbergstrasse 46
2503 Biel/Bienne